The Department of Theatre Student Advisory Board for Diversity & Inclusion supports and promotes the ideals formed by the MSU Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives that states:

At Michigan State University, we believe our differences are assets. We foster a community that respects and values a broad range of backgrounds, viewpoints, and experiences and encourages and creates opportunities so all Spartans can reach their full potential educationally and professionally.


Board Members

Briana Beeman

Briana Beeman is a junior BA major in the Department of Theatre with a minor in Women’s & Gender Studies. She is committed to creating socially-engaged theatre, and as a future educator, she cares deeply about inclusivity in the classroom. She appreciates the opportunity to further extend her allyship toward her diverse group of peers and continue to advocate for a positive, equitable learning environment in which every artist, technician, and scholar of theatre can prosper.

Jala Jackson

Jala Jackson is a senior BFA Acting major at Michigan State University. Growing up in the urban areas of Detroit, MI, it is her mission to create a more accepting and equal space for Black actors and actresses within the department. Breaking down borders and dismissing stereotypes, Jala aims to show the world that Black actresses can be more than just the “sassy Black girl” character type.

Hongwen Lu

Hongwen Lu is a senior majoring in Theatre (Acting). Her preferred pronouns are she/her/hers. As an international student with Asian background, she is committed to make sure there is more inclusion and diversity for international students. Also, she wants to help everyone feel heard and included. Additionally, she hopes to introduce more Asian literature and plays to theatre department.