Michigan State University
Michigan State University
Department of Theatre
Two 9/11 Plays


Fl2011-9_11-POSTER.jpgReturn to the Upright Position

A performance collaboration conceived and edited by Caridad Svich. Written during the six months after 11 September 2001 by Cusi Cram, Mitchell Gossett, Julie Hebert, Llysa Holland, Julie Jensen, Jennifer Maisel. Julia Pearlstein, Brad Rothbart, Gregory Romero, Caridad Svich, Ann E. Taylor, Elizabeth Wong, Michael Wright and Allison Eve Zell.

Directed by Lynn Lammers

This online collaboration resulted in a play of subtle poetry and haunting imagery.

AND

WHAT HAPPENED:
The September 11th Testimony Project

By Amy S. Green. Based on interviews conducted by students at John Jay College of Criminal Justice/CUNY

Directed by Wes Haskell

Uses actual reports from firefighters, emergency personnel and citizen bystanders at the World Trade Center.

THE AUDITORIUM ARENA THEATRE

Tuesday, September 20, 2011 - 7:30p.m.
Wednesday, September 21, 2011 - 7:30p.m.
Friday, September 23, 2011 - 8:00p.m.
Saturday, September 24, 2011 - 8:00p.m.
* Sunday, September 25, 2011 - 2:00p.m.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011 - 7:30p.m.
Wednesday, September 28, 2011 - 7:30p.m.
** Thursday, September 29, 2011 - 7:30p.m.
Friday, September 30, 2011 - 8:00p.m.
Saturday, October 1, 2011 - 2:00p.m.
Saturday, October 1, 2011 - 8:00p.m.

Ten years after the tragedy, two unique projects explore one of America’s darkest hours. These two plays aim to illuminate the tenacity of the human spirit.

*Director Pre-Show Discussion Sunday, September 25, 2011 @ 1:15 PM

**Post-Show Discussion on Thursday, September 29, 2011. (Following the performance)

Tickets are available from the Wharton Center Box Office, 1.800.WHARTON, whartoncenter.com